Call for papers

The Symposium will no longer accept proposals. For our original Call for Papers, click here.

Congratulations recipients of the IJJF Scholarships and the Giorgio Melchior Grant for this year!
IJJF Selection Committee: Ellen Carol Jones (chair), Thomas J. Rice, Scarlett Baron

IJJF Scholarships 
Victoria Lévêque, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle-Paris 3, International James Joyce Foundation Scholarship in Honor of Fritz Senn
Quyen Nguyen, Nanyang Technological University, International James Joyce Foundation Scholarship in Memory of Elaine Mingus
Boriana Alexandrova, University of York
Donald Calabrese, University of Western Ontario
Jennifer Anne Marchisotto, University of California, San Diego
Tamara Radak, University of Vienna
Giovanna Vincenti, University of Reading

Giorgio Melchiori Grant
Sara Sullam (University of Milan)

Hypermedia Joyce Studies
Commemorating the 20th anniversary of its inception, the editors of Hypermedia Joyce Studies–the oldest online journal of Joyce scholarship–invite the delegates of the 2014 Utrecht James Joyce Symposium to contribute to the special issue devoted to Joyce and poetry. The issue will appear under the guest editorship of Dr. Onno Kosters at the end of 2014, with submission deadline mid-October, 2014. The issue wishes to address Joyce’s own forays into the poetical mode as well as the importance of Joyce’s modernist/avant-gardist poetics of “verbivocovisual presentiment” for the poetry of and after his time.Particularly welcome are papers dealing with some of the following topics: Joyce & Pound, William Carlos Williams as (not only) the contributor to Our Exagmination, the post-war Brazilian Noigandres Group, the neo-avantgarde of the 1960s & 70s, the L-A-N-G-U-A-G-E group, conceptual poetry, hypertextual writing from the 90s onward, sound & visual poetry, poetry in the contemporary digital age.